Five Toronto Blue Jays have been named finalists for the Gold Glove Awards

Article content

Five members of the Toronto Blue Jays have been named finalists for the American League Gold Glove Awards.

Article content

Pitcher Jose Berrios, catcher Alejandro Kirk, third baseman Matt Chapman, left fielder Daulton Varsho and center fielder Kevin Kiermaier were among the three finalists at their respective positions.

Article content

Major League Baseball announced the finalists Wednesday afternoon. The winners will be announced on November 5th.

Managers and coaches from each team voted from a pool of players from their league, excluding players from their club. The SABR defensive index, which aggregates defensive metrics, is also used to determine the winners.

Berrios battled for the honor against Minnesota pitchers Sonny Gray and Pablo Lopez. The Twins defeated the Blue Jays in the AL Wild Card Series earlier this month.

Kirk, Jonah Heim of the Texas Rangers and Adleyrutschman of Baltimore were finalists at catcher.

We’re sorry, but this video failed to load.

Chapman, a three-time Gold Glove Award winner, competed against Alex Bregman of Houston and Jose Ramirez of Cleveland.

Varsho competed against Steven Kwan of Cleveland and Austin Hays of Baltimore. The final three in midfield included Kiermaier, Chicago’s Luis Robert Jr. and Seattle’s Julio Rodriguez.

Finalists were named for the nine standard positions and the utility position.

Recommended by Editorial

Share this article on your social network

Hung is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button