GRAMMY Awards 1997: 14-year-old LeAnn Rimes becomes the youngest-ever Grammy winner

The 65th annual GRAMMY Awards are taking place in LA on February 5, but it’s time to look back on a historic country moment.

In 1996, a young pop-country phenomenon was named LeAnn Rimes burst onto the country music scene with her debut studio album entitled Major Label Blue.

Featuring hits like “Blue”, “Hurt Me”, “One Way Ticket (Because I Can)”, “Unchained Melody” and “The Light in Your Eyes”, the album went multi-platinum, proving that the 13- Year-old star was talented beyond her years.

The following year, she was nominated for two Grammys at the 39th Annual Grammy Awards, for Best New Artist of All Genres and for Best Female Country Vocal Performance for her single “Blue.”

“Blue” songwriter Bill Mack was also nominated for All-Genre Song of the Year.

She would win both nominations that year, becoming the youngest-ever Grammy winner at just 14 years old. And to date, she’s the youngest single Grammy winner of all time.

She was also the first country artist to win Best New Artist.

The following year, she performed her hit single “How Do I Live” at the 40th Annual Grammy Awards.

Zach Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Willie Nelson and more receive 2023 GRAMMY nominations

The moment we’ve all been waiting for… Mr. Zach Bryan received his first-ever Grammy nomination for “Something in the Orange” for Best Country Solo Performance.

For that, he deserves a BIG CONGRATULATIONS.

We also have the likes of Miranda Lambert, Luke Combs, Ashley McBryde and Willie Nelson for a shot at Best Country Album, a really fantastic group of artists who all deserve the award.

Overall they did a good job and of course we all have our own opinions on who should have been nominated where, but overall it’s definitely a solid group.

Look at her:


Best Country Solo Performance:

“Sincerely” – Kelsea Ballerini
“Something in the Orange” – Zach Bryan
“In his arms” – Miranda Lambert
“Circles around this town” – Maren Morris
“Live Forever” – Willie Nelson

Best Country Duo/Group Performance:

“Drink of choice” – Ingrid Andress and Sam Hunt
“The Horseman’s Midnight Prayer” – Osborne Brothers
“Overhaul Your Memory” – Luke Combs and Miranda Lambert
“Does he love you – bye” – Reba McEntire and Dolly Parton
“I never wanted to be that girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde
“Go where the lonely go” – Robert Plant and Alison Krauss

Best Country Song:

“Circles Around This Town” – Ryan Hurd, Julia Michaels, Maren Morris and Jimmy Robbins, songwriters (Maren Morris)
“Doin’ This, Luke Combs” – Drew Parker and Robert Williford, songwriters (Luke Combs)
“I Bet You’re Thinking About Me (Taylor’s Version) (From the Vault)” – Lori McKenna and Taylor Swift, songwriters (Taylor Swift)
“If I Were a Cowboy” – Jesse Frasure and Miranda Lambert, songwriters (Miranda Lambert)
“I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die” – Rodney Crowell and Chris Stapleton, songwriters (Willie Nelson)
“Til You Can’t” – Matt Rogers and Ben Stennis, songwriters (Cody Johnson)

Best Country Album:

Grow up – Luke Combs
palomino — Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville – Ashley McBryde
humble quest – Maren Morris
A nice time – Willie Nelson


With nominations for Dolly Parton, Brandi Carlile, Allison Krause and Robert Plant:

Best American Roots Performance:

“One Day Everything Will Make Sense (Bluegrass Version)” – Bill Anderson with Dolly Parton
“Life After Raechel” – Madison Cunningham
“Oh Betty” – Fantastic Negrito
“Stompin’ Ground” – Aaron Neville with the Dirty Dozen Brass Band
“Prodigal Daughter” – Aoife O’Donovan and Allison Russell

Best Americana Performance:

“Silver Moon (A Tribute to Michael Nesmith)” – Eric Alexandrakis
There You Go Again – Falling asleep at the wheel with Lyle Lovett
“The Message” – Blind Boys of Alabama with Black Violin
“You and Me on the Rock” – Brandi Carlile with Lucius
“Made Up Mind” – Bonnie Raitt

Best American Roots Song:

“Bright Star” – Anaïs Mitchell, songwriter (Anaïs Mitchell)
“Forever” – Sheryl Crow and Jeff Trott, songwriters (Sheryl Crow)
“High and Lonesome” – T Bone Burnett and Robert Plant, songwriters (Robert Plant and Alison Krauss)
“Just like that” – Bonnie Raitt, songwriter (Bonnie Raitt)
“Prodigal Daughter” – Tim O’Brien and Aoife O’Donovan, Songwriters (Aoife O’Donovan and Allison Russell)
“You and Me on the Rock” – Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth and Tim Hanseroth, songwriters (Brandi Carlile feat. Lucius)

Best Americana Album:

In these quiet days —Brandi Carlile
things happen like that — dr John
To be good … — Keb’ Mo’
raise the roof – Robert Plant and Alison Krauss
Just as… – Bonnie Raitt


And the big four, including a nomination for Brandi Carlile for Album of the Year and bluegrass star Molly Tuttle for New Artist of the Year (sadly, Zach didn’t make that category this year). as they had previously indicated):

Record of the year:

Don’t lock me up —Abba
easy for me – Adele
break my soul – Beyonce
Good morning lovely — Mary J Blige
You and me on the rock – Brandi Carlile with Lucius
woman — Doja Cat
Bad habit – Steve Lacy
The heart part 5 – Kendrick Lamar
About the damn time – Lizzo
How it was – Harry Styles

album of the year:

travel —Abba
30 – Adele
Un Verano Sin Ti – Bad rabbit
Renaissance – Beyonce
Good Morning Lovely (Deluxe) — Mary J Blige
In these quiet days —Brandi Carlile
Music of the Spheres – Coldplay
Mr. Morale & the big steppers – Kendrick Lamar
Special – Lizzo
Harry’s house – Harry Styles

song of the year

“Abcdefu” – Sara Davis, Gayle and Dave Pittenger, songwriters (Gayle)
“About Damn Time” – Melissa “Lizzo” Jefferson, Eric Frederic, Blake Slatkin and Theron Makiel Thomas, songwriters (Lizzo)
“All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (The Short Film)” – Liz Rose and Taylor Swift, songwriters (Taylor Swift)
“As It Was” – Tyler Johnson, Kid Harpoon and Harry Styles, songwriters (Harry Styles)
“Bad Habit” – Matthew Castellanos, Brittany Fousheé, Diana Gordon, John Carroll Kirby & Steve Lacy, songwriters (Steve Lacy)
“Break My Soul” – Beyoncé, S. Carter, Terius “The-Dream” Gesteelde-Diamant and Christopher A. Stewart, songwriters (Beyoncé)
“Easy on Me” – Adele Adkins and Greg Kurstin, songwriters (Adele)
“God Did” – Tarik Azzouz, E Blackmon, Khaled Khaled, F LeBlanc, Shawn Carter, John Stephens, Dwayne Carter, William Roberts and Nicholas Warwar, Songwriters (DJ Khaled Featuring Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, Jay-Z, John legend and friday)
“The Heart Part 5” – Jake Kosich, Johnny Kosich, Kendrick Lamar and Matt Schaeffer, songwriters (Kendrick Lamar)
“Just like that” – Bonnie Raitt, songwriter (Bonnie Raitt)

Best New Artist:

Omar Apollo
Domi & JD Beck
Moon long
Samara joy
mane skin
Tobe Nwigwe
Molly Tuttle
wet leg

The show will take place on February 5th at the Arena in Los Angeles. GRAMMY Awards 1997: 14-year-old LeAnn Rimes becomes the youngest-ever Grammy winner

Skyred is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button