India announce squad for Women’s Asia Cup; Jemimah Rodrigues returns

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced its 15-man squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup on Wednesday 21 September. Harmanpreet Kaur will continue to lead the Women in Blue while Smriti Mandhana will be her deputy.

Jemimah Rodrigues, who missed the England tour with a wrist injury, returned to the team for the continental tournament. The young batsman suffered an injury during The Hundred and was rehabilitated at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.

Mandhana and Shafali Verma were named openers while Sabbineni Meghana, Dayalan Hemalatha and KP Navgire are the other batsmen in the squad alongside Harmanpreet and Jemimah.

India squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, J Rodrigues, S Meghana, Richa Ghosh (WK), Sneh Rana, D Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, P. Vastrakar, R. Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, KP Navgire#TeamIndia | #WomensAsiaCup | #AsiaCup2022

Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana and Pooja Vastrakar were chosen as all-rounders. Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Radha Yadav are the specialized spinners, while Renuka Singh and Meghna Singh form the tempo unit.

Taniya Bhatia and Simran Dil Bahadur were named as reserve players.

India’s 2022 Asian Cup Women’s Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (Goalkeeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav and KP Navgire.

Standby player: Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia, Simran Dil Bahadur.

India’s Asian Cup Women’s 2022 Schedule

The upcoming edition of the continental women’s tournament begins on October 1 with a duel between hosts Bangladesh and Thailand. Harmanpreet and Co. will also begin their campaign against Sri Lanka on the same day.

They will play Malaysia and the United Arab Emirates on back-to-back days (3rd and 4th October) before taking on arch-rivals Pakistan on 7th October. India then meets Bangladesh on October 8 before completing their group stage against Thailand on October 10.

The seven teams compete in a round-robin format. The two semi-finals will be played on October 13, with the final set taking place on October 15.

Also read: ‘Bhuvneshwar Kumar is a 19th over-specialist for the opposing team’ – fans slam veteran Indian pacesetter after 1st T20I vs Australia India announce squad for Women’s Asia Cup; Jemimah Rodrigues returns

Linh is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button