New NFL overtime rules divide fans as postseason hits

This postseason, NFL games will have an extra wrinkle as they go into overtime.

After a heartbreaking overtime loss for the Bills in the divisional round of the AFC playoffs last year, the NFL decided to look at overtime rules, especially in the postseason.

They decided to change the normal “sudden death” style of overtime, allowing both teams to have possession at least once.

Of course, the change has divided football fans, particularly those of the teams involved in the game that led to the change last year.


Some condemn the change, claiming that the game needs to value defense equally.

Others want to avoid situations like last year and give both teams at least one shot regardless of the outcome of the first overtime.

To be perfectly honest, I see both arguments. But honestly, the way some fans, especially Chiefs fans, are complaining about it feels kind of hypocritical.

I find Chiefs fans calling Josh Allen “golden boy” when their quarterback is currently the face of the league and a Madden cover athlete hilarious.

What’s even funnier is how this whole argument would have been turned on its head if things had gone the opposite way in that playoff game. These were the two most powerful offenses in the NFL. Requiring a defense to stop the opposition’s offense would be a big challenge this late in the competition.


If that coin toss had gone the other way, I can 100% promise that the tweet about it would end with “Bills vs the world lol” instead and we’d be having the exact same conversation.

In any case, fans are divided by the decision. I personally think it’s a good change that takes away the element of luck from the coin toss, which is inherently non-competitive.

Regardless of what anyone thinks, this is how overtime is going to be in the postseason. It will be interesting to see how teams adjust as circumstances arise.

NFL franchises that have never won a Super Bowl

A dozen NFL teams have never experienced the ultimate prize in football.

NFL franchise with multiple Super Bowl championships

15 NFL franchises have won multiple Super Bowls.

NFL franchise with a Super Bowl championship

A dozen NFL teams have never won a Super Bowl, while fifteen teams have won multiple Super Bowls. Five franchises have only won 1. New NFL overtime rules divide fans as postseason hits

Linh is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button