New Zealand announce 15-man squad for T20I series vs India; Mitchell Santner named as captain

Left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner will lead New Zealand in the three-game T20 series against India that begins January 27 at Ranchi, making his New Zealand A debut late last year in India.

Lister has put in a decent performance in the 2021-22 edition of Super Smash, taking 11 wickets in 10 matches with an average of 22. In the current edition, he has picked up five scalps in three games.

The 27-year-old’s visit to India A in 2022 was cut short after he contracted pneumonia in Bangalore. The infection forced him to spend some time in the hospital before returning home.

Black Caps chief selector Gavin Larsen elaborated on Lister’s selection, explaining that the left-armed seamer had been the leading wicket-taker at the home circuit in both red-ball and white-ball cricket. Larsen also considers his ability to consistently generate momentum to be a significant weapon.

“Ben made an exciting impact on Auckland early on in his career in red-white-ball cricket,” he said in an official press release. “He has been the leading wicket-taker of the aces in T20 and List A cricket since his debut in late 2017.

“His ability to swing the ball significantly as a left arm is particularly exciting. We all felt for Ben after his tour ended as it was last year and it’s a testament to his work ethic that he’s been able to return to domestic cricket so strongly this season.”

Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne and Ben Sears are not available for selection as they continue to recover from injuries. The squad also has Henry Shipley, who made his international debut in the ongoing ODI series against Pakistan, while leg-turning all-rounder Michael Rippon has also found a spot after making his New Zealand debut in April 2022.

Continuing the ODI series against India, Luke Ronchi will serve as head coach, while Bob Carter and Paul Wiseman will be batting and bowling coaches respectively. Trevor Penney will be the fourth coach.

After the first T20I in Ranchi, Lucknow and Ahmedabad will host the second and third T20I on January 29th and February 1st respectively.

New Zealand’s squad meets India in the three-game T20 series

Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi and Blair Tickner.

Quick links

More from Sportskeeda New Zealand announce 15-man squad for T20I series vs India; Mitchell Santner named as captain

Hung is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button