[WATCH] Shreyas Iyer perishes to the short ball yet again in 2nd India vs West Indies T20I

Team India batsman Shreyas Iyer continued to struggle on short ball as he died again from rising delivery in the second T20I against West India on Monday (1 August). He was dismissed for 10 balls out of 11.

After a baggage problem delayed the start of the game in St Kitts by three hours, the hosts won the draw and challenged India to bat first. Team India got off to the worst possible start, losing skipper Rohit Sharma for a golden duck. Suryakumar Yadav’s poor run continued as he too fell to 11th.

Team India was hoping for Shreyas to stabilize the innings. However, his weakness against short ball resurfaced when he was back in the hut in the fifth over of India’s innings.

West Indian pacesetter Alzarri Joseph threw a short and wide outside stump. The batsman attempted to hit the delivery over the offside. However, he played away from his body and was unable to control his shot.

Shreyas was totally outplayed by the extra bounce Joseph created and only managed to get the ball to the goalie. His sacking left India in dire straits at 40 for 3.

Earlier, left-arm West India sailor Obed McCoy sent home both Indian openers. Team India skipper Rohit got an outside of the stump lob which he could only lob to a short third man off the shoulder of the bat. Outfield player Akeal Hosein timed his jump perfectly.

Suryakumar needed a big score to boost his confidence but it wasn’t to be as he fell without making another significant contribution. McCoy angled the ball over the right-hander and an off-balance Suryakumar buckled the handoff to the keeper.

Again, there was no bailout from the dynamic Rishabh Pant. The left-hander looked dangerous throughout his stay in the crease, smashing two sixes and a four in his 12-ball 24. However, he fell to Hosein after a failed attempt to take the spinner with his left arm.

Pant walked down the track and hit him on the side. However, he couldn’t get his timing right and was caught at deep midwicket.

India vs. West Indies 2. T20I: Play XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (w), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh.

West Indies: Kyle Mayers, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran (c&wk), Rovman Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Devon Thomas, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy.

Edited by Renin Wilben Albert [WATCH] Shreyas Iyer perishes to the short ball yet again in 2nd India vs West Indies T20I

Linh is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button